Akuyaku Reijou wa Danna-sama wo Yasesasetai – Epilogue

Epilogue

“…Oh, they’re back.”

It was barely after dawn. From the window of the Montchat manor in the capital of Mohnton, he saw a carriage he didn’t recognize.

Just as had been reported by the men guarding the border, it was a carriage bearing the royal crest.

As Klaus muttered that to himself, Nicole and Günter who happened to be nearby, raised their heads. They raced to the open window and leaned outside.

“God damn, it’s true! Heeeey!”

Günter waved vigorously, but of course the people in the carriage a little while down the road didn’t notice him.

“Missstresssss! Lord Aloiiiiis!!”

Nicole also yelled as loudly as she could next to him. As he sighed at the two idiots screaming out the window, he noticed that the other servants nearby were already beginning to whisper to each other with big smiles on their faces.

Within minutes, the entire mansion was buzzing with activity.

 

 

Despite the brisk southerly wind tinged with miasma, Camilla and Alois were greeted outside by all the mansion’s servants.

Alongside the smiling servants, several soldiers also saluted their return. Some of the maids couldn’t help but whisper to each other happily, whilst the cooks wondered just what kind of feast was in order. Everyone’s faces were bright.

“Mistressssss!”

Nicole pushed her way through the circle of people surrounding them and ran straight into Camilla, who had barely stepped off the carriage.

“I-I’m so glad that you’re okaaaaaay…!!”

Camilla didn’t know what to say to Nicole, who bawled as she clung to her. As she gently stroked her head, she looked around at all the others.

Camilla looked at them all slightly incredulously. This was hardly the welcome she expected under the circumstances.

“What about the revolt? Is there still fighting going on? The Meyerheim and Ende families are in revolt, are they not!?”

After nearly losing her life in the royal capital, returning to this felt like a major anticlimax. She almost felt as if there was something shady going on.

“Ah, right, that. Nah, nothing of the sort. It’s all wrapped up!”

As Camilla looked this way and that, she suddenly heard a frivolous sounding voice behind her. Camilla was startled by that sudden familiar voice.

“Klaus! What on earth are you doing here!?”

The Lörrich family were supposed to be in open rebellion against Alois. When she looked around more, she suddenly spotted two familiar faces in the group of soldiers. Two strong-looking men, with chestnut brown hair…

“Theo!? Leon!? Why are you not in Einst!?”

As Camilla looked at them in complete shock, Leon tried to keep a serious face whilst Theo just winked.

“Just what is all this…?”

“Apparently, the two of you are pretty popular. You managed to win over more than half of Mohnton to your side, and now that they’re all alone, Falsch surrendered. We got that message this morning.”

Camilla could only breathe as she looked at Klaus, mouth agape. Her thoughts couldn’t catch up with what was being said. The three major noble houses of Mohnton rose up in rebellion, just how could that have all changed so quickly?

What’s more, Falsch had surrendered. Was it a coincidence that it happened the morning Alois and Camilla had returned?

– No.

It couldn’t be a coincidence, could it? As Camilla returned from the royal capital, they must have known the fate of the true heir to the title of Duke Montchat. With the loss of their master, they had also lost their reason to fight on.

“All’s well that ends well, right! We’re gonna have a celebration! You came back at just the right time!”

Pushing past Klaus, Günter beamed at her. Indicating just who would be in charge of the feast, he flexed his arms.

Then, he glanced behind Camilla.

“What the, I’ve never seen her before?”

Günter gazed at Diana, who made absolutely certain she would go with Camilla this time. It looked as if Günter was slightly stunned by her appearance.

“She’s a beauty, ain’t she…?”

“At least those eyes of yours aren’t painted on, then.”

With a fearless laugh, she stepped forward, but only to Camilla’s side as she tapped on her shoulder.

“You really did get to live in a place like this, huh?”

Diana smiled as she cast a sidelong glance at Camilla. Then, still smiling, she looked around at the people surrounding Camilla. She looked at Günter and Klaus, then finally to Nicole, whose hairs stood on end like a cornered animal as she jumped backwards.

“J-Just who are you?”

“I’m Diana. I suppose you could say I’m Camilla’s personal maid, or something like that.”

“Maid!? I-I am the Mistress’ maid!”

“Oh, that’s right. I’ve heard a lot about the little puppy that she picked up!”

“Puppy…!?”

Nicole yelled, her face full of indignation.

Klaus couldn’t hold back his laughter. Günter smiled and tried to reassure Nicole, which only drew the laughter of the cooks who didn’t think that role suited him at all. The laughter was contagious, and before anyone knew it, it had spread to everyone.

Camilla, meanwhile, watched silently.

It really was a strange scene. Günter from the Brandt family, Klaus from the Lörrich family, Nicole from the Ende family and Theo and Leon from the Meyerheim family. What’s more, all of them alongside people from the capital. People from all over Mohnton had gathered here. Even after hundreds of years, they all still gathered for the Montchat family.

Even though they weren’t here, there were certainly lots of other people who had done everything they could. It was all so strange, but… she was happy.

“Camilla.”

As she watched, Alois stood beside her. He also watched alongside her, without getting into the middle of what was quickly becoming a celebration.

“Camilla, I’ve gained all sorts of important things in this land. I’ve met a lot of people. People I became friends with, people who respected me.”

“Lord Alois?”

“People who made sure I had a place to come back to. People who waited for me to return. I also met you and eventually came to know you. That’s why…”

Alois smiled as he looked ahead. The air that pricked at his skin was still colder than the winds in the royal capital. It was a land where miasma travelled on the air throughout the year, and in the winter the ground would be covered in snow. Every time the wind blew, Alois’ skin reacted painfully.

But, even so…

“I love this land. And, I love you. This place is yours as well.”

Camilla looked back up at Alois. Alois, too, stared back at Camilla. At some point, they had taken each other’s hands.

Not everything had been cleanly solved. Not everything had been achieved without sacrifice. There was also still resistance to Alois.

But, as she took Alois’ strong hands, Camilla felt like they couldn’t lose. No matter what happened in the future, they would be able to overcome anything together.

“I want to protect the things that I love. Camilla… I want to do that by your side, forever.”

The wind blew and the clouds wisped overhead. Laughter echoed through the air. The morning light of the sun was dazzlingly bright. It almost shone on the wind itself.

Mohnton, which was once a land of shadows, was illuminated by the light of the dawn.

 

Fin

 


 

Well then, here we are. I hope you enjoyed Akuyaku Reijou wa Danna-sama wo Yasesasetai as much as I enjoyed translating it. It really has been quite a journey. Thanks to everyone who read this far and left their comments, I always look forward to reading them.

Now, things aren’t quite over yet, as there are two sets of extra chapters that I still need to translate, as well as a second volume of the light novel (which will likely cover the Einst and Blume chapters of the web novel) coming out next month, which I’ll make sure to get the illustrations from.

I’ll be translating the extra chapters more leisurely, but hopefully, I’ll have them done within a month. I’ll be releasing them as a whole instead of one at a time. In case you’re interested as to what they entail (without spoilers):

The Capital; One Month Later – A story about Alois and Camilla returning to the capital for a visit to an important place.

The Path of the Dead – A story that will satisfyingly tie up a certain loose end.

Once again, thank you for reading, and if you’re able to, please support the author Haiaka by purchasing Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the light novel.

Amarrez

<- Prev Next ->

56 comments

  1. Finally a closure after such an intense finale. Thank you so much for translating this novel, it has been a very great read

    Like

  2. Yayyy what an amazing journey! You are such a fantastic translator!!! 🙂 🙂

    I look forward to your next series~ if possible would love to put forth a few recommendations (like otome game magic burikko which has been dropped by other translation groups) ^_^

    Like

    1. Ahh i remember that novel :,o
      It was getting exciting,but the staff of onichanyamete! dropped it…they are ultimately kinda pricky

      Like

  3. Although I’ve never written any comments before, I just wanna say thank you so much for translating this ’till the very end. It was such a fun, awesome ride reading and waiting for the next chapter to come.

    Again, thank you for picking this up, Amarrez. 😀

    Like

  4. In first place im glad there will be some extras. Japanese endings always left you longing for more!!!I wanted a 10 y.later stuff with their children complaining about a scary mom xD

    And of course,thank you VERY much for translating this masterpiece.

    I liked what they did here,the final with members of the 4 housed of Monthon having good laughs with Alois and Camilla :,) so beautiful

    Its been a fun ride :,)
    Thanks again.

    Like

  5. Many thanks
    Well, the ending just doesn’t feel like an ending… It feels like the arc ending and threes going to be more story to tell. But… Maybe that’s just my wish hahaha

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for your hard work and translations!!! This story always had me on edge asdfghjkl, I do like how they got their happy ending. But as someone else pointed out it does feel like an end of a arc. So happy that there’s more content though!

    Like

  7. Thank you so much for all the hard work!! 😩🙏🏻🙏🏻💜💜 Glad this story turned out to be so much more real than I expected. Looking forward to what’s left! 😊

    Like

  8. Whoa, what a wild ride!

    It has been a honor and a privilege to follow your work on the translation on this series. I salute you, good sir.

    Like

  9. Ah finally the end has come. I feel elated and also unsatisfied cuz how short the epilogue is. I’m glad there’s a couple bonus chapters but I wish there’re more…

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for translating, Amarrez; look forward to the remaining bonus chapters.

    Quick unrelated question, do you intend on doing any more manga translation teasers? I’ve noticed there’s an ongoing manga adaptation of Kouchugunshikan Boukensha ni Naru/The Galactic Army Officer Becomes an Adventurer, based on the WN you did a teaser of some time ago. No one’s handling that one yet at all, so perhaps a teaser translation of the 1st manga chapter might spark wider interest in both the manga and WN (plus the 3rd LN volume’s coming out soon).
    https://comic-walker.com/contents/detail/KDCW_AM19200711010000_68/

    Like

  11. Thank you very much for translating this novel. I do not know any English but thanks to your excellent translation I was able to read without problems with the google translator. Since I found this story I was captivated and completely trapped and I loved the end, I look forward to the second volume. Congratulations for your hard work.

    Like

  12. Uwaaaah uwaaah uwaaaaaah it finally ends!!!!! Thank you so much for bringing Camilla’s and ‘Alois”s journey to the end!

    I have a mixed feeling about Liselotte. We all kinda have a gist that Therese just want Camilla’s attention albeit in a toxic way, i hope they could make uo somehow.

    But Liselotte man… For me she’s the best vilainness in this story… I feel that she can win this battle with flying colors if only she didn’t pity Camilla and send her to her real Julian, she knew that Camilla is a good girl, she knew Camilla is hopelessly romantic and loyal, and out of pity and sympathy she sent Camilla to her one true love(or at the time, obsession?). But even when she sunk in the end, she didnt have any resentment towards anyone, i cant help but think, shes just unlucky and fell in love with the wrong person.

    Like

    1. That’s what a villainess is though… A girl thst loves one or more of the capture targets while opposing the female protagonist and using some underhanded means when dealing with people.

      As for Therese, that is all up to Camilla and she is an unforgiving vengeful idiot that never truly accepted that she was to blame for anything. So I doubt she would do the right thing and forgive her sister for… Revealing some of the true things that Camilla had Done!

      I mean, it was mean to do so… but in the end, Camilla was actually guilty of all the bad things Therese has told Lisselot about.

      I mean, anyone that has ever had a younger sister should be aware that most younger sisters are tattle tells.

      Yupp, Camilla hates her younger sister for having tattled on her.

      Like

  13. Wow. Thank you for the translations. They were very well done. I love this story. I’ve been waking up every morn checking for updates. Thank you!!

    Like

  14. wow, i was in an amazing time to pick up this novel, completely caught up to it yesterday while the translation was about to finish. Thank you so much, it was such a great ride

    Like

  15. Thank you so much for having picked up this story and translating it to share with us. It’s been a wild ride but I loved it every step of the way.

    Out of all the novels/etc on my reading list, I looked forward to updates from this one the most. So, really. Thank you very very much, especially with cranking out all these final chapter translations so fast. Your translations have been awesome.

    Like

  16. 😍😍😍 thanks for everything, I don’t know much about the English lenguage, but I can read this story because you translate for us. ¡Arigato! ❤️

    Like

  17. This had been my first novel that I’ve patiently waited everyday to finish.
    And I love every second of it. Thanks for sharing us this wonderful story. I’ll make sure I will never ever forget this novel.. except the Title.
    I’ll just remember the English title, hahaha.

    Like

  18. Este viaje estuvo cargado muchas c emociones, ame a los personajes aunque hubo momentos en los cuales me exasperaban bastante, pero aun así fue una lectura buena. Gracias traductor por tu esfuerzo y desempeño, sin ti leer esto no hubiese podido ser😘😘😘

    Like

  19. I kinda wanna see more of Gerda’s reaction to the failure of her plan. I also kinda want to see Klaus have one more conversation with her.

    Like

  20. Diosssss! Amé esta novela, muchisimas gracias por traducirla, realmente la disfruté (y eso que no se nada de ingles jajaja)

    Like

  21. I received a lot of feelings while read this novel: anger, disappointed, sad, exasperated, agonized feelings when all things go wrong, but also fun, happy, laught, determined, obstinate, surprized and etc. It was so lifely. I was angry because Camilla always scream, because almost all people around her- blumb and obsinate rams who worried about stupid traditions and make horrible/sly things behind her back. But it also was so funny. Awkward Nicole, brutal-sweety Günter, fox Klaus (the best), children in Greenze, Theo and Leon and, of course, cool Martha, music band in Blume and…. and my sweety beloved Camilla and Alois. Watch how their feelings and they’re themself change. How they did step by step for become closer to each other. It was really wonderful.
    Thanks so much for translating this wonderful story ~

    Like

  22. Thank you very much for the translation, very much appreciated. I truly enjoy reading this LN, which had me occupied for a week.

    The LN is surprisingly fun to read despite my initial wariness because of the title and tge summary. However, I’m glad I give this novel a go because in the end, it’s gold. Characters are so full of life, story has me on edge every single time, and I love the drama, suspense. Most of all, I can feel the emotions of the people in the novel.

    Truly a must read!

    Like

  23. Although I’m late to the party, this was honestly a ride. I want to start off by thanking the translator for investing the time to translate this beautiful story so others can enjoy, and how your end notes were quite endearing as well 😉

    This was such a twist, I honestly thought that the royal family had a secret third child. I’m glad I went through and read the LN. At some points I wanted to stop reading but I couldn’t bare to leave without knowing the end! I really hope that the

    Like

  24. everything fell into place 💕 love it! Though most of the time I read this annoyed haha but this ending made up for it ❤️ Thank you for translating this

    Like

  25. Usually the prologue of each volume, starts with depicting Camilla to be some sort of dangerous villain. SO i was expecting the epilogue to be a newspaper format of praising Camilla.
    Oh well this is fine as well

    Like

  26. Decent.

    Diana best girl tbh she somehow seems like a true onee-san and the tidbits we heard about her just make you love her, I’m not shitting on Camilla or anything she was very nice and I liked seeing her but Diana is my type of gal.

    Like

  27. Thank you so much for the translation!!!
    Binge read in 3 days, it was not healthy decidedly.
    It was easy to read and very enjoyable.
    Man the feels, Camilla nearly died so many times XD.
    Glad I got to see them get together for reals.
    (what about Diana’s fam tho? Now she’s pretty far from home and her orphanage XD)

    Like

  28. Binge Read entire thing starting at night finishing next day noon no sleep lol. It was that good. I usuallu don’t read novels with female MC but this was Quite an unexpected exception. Thank you so much for the translations.

    Like

Leave a Reply